Saturday — November 18, 2017 9p at Cinematic Picture Group in Hollywood, CA the LA SKINS FEST held the 5th ANNUAL NATIVE AMERICAN MEDIA AWARDS CEREMONY. Filmmakers from across Indian country were honored for their great achievements in Native American cinema.

“Thank you, LA SKINS FEST. I am blessed and lucky to have received the Emerging Filmmaker Award. I really didn’t expect this!”  – Jay Cardinal Villanueve, 2017 LASF Filmmaker

The 2017 LA SKINS FEST winners are:

Achievement in Film
Murder in the Woods
Directed by Luis Iga
Written by Yelyna De Leon

Achievement in Documentary Film
Mayors of Shiprock
Directed by Ramona Emerson

Achievement in Short Film
Directed by Jesse Littlebird

Achievement in Short Documentary Film
Directed by Jules Koostachin

Achievement in Animation
The Iron Detective: Sentinel
Directed by Jason Turner

Achievement in Student Filmmaking
Because I’ve There
Directed by the Citxw Nlaka’pamux Assembly Youth

Achievement in Youth Filmmaking
Directed by Viejas Band of Kumeyaay Youth

Emerging Filmmaker Award
Hickey Gone Wrong
Directed by Jay Cardinal Villeneuve

Community Leadership Award
The Strength Of Siblings
Directed by UTE Mountain UTE Tribe Youth

Check out some the pictures from the 5th ANNUAL NATIVE AMERICAN MEDIA AWARDS CEREMONY.
5th ANNUAL NATIVE AMERICAN MEDIA AWARDS CEREMONYThe NATIVE AMERICAN MEDIA AWARD CEREMONY was hosted by actress Shawn Kathryn Kane and actor Ross Crain. The award celebration also featured live music by Tracy Lee Nelson and a special performance from comedian Jim Ruel.